Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Auto Insurance Companies

Sharing the Road with Motorcycles in Kansas

Here's what you need to know...
  • Motorcycle drivers older than 18 are not required to wear a helmet in Kansas
  • Motorcycle drivers without insurance are required to pay a $300 minimum fine
  • Motorcycle drivers must wear protective glasses or goggles if their windshield is not at least 10-inches

One of the most exhilarating experiences in life is the freedom you feel riding a motorcycle. It’s not for everyone, of course, but those with the desire to ride thoroughly enjoy the freedom offered on the seat of a bike.

Motorcycles can be quite dangerous when the driver isn’t comfortable or driving safely, and they can be even more dangerous when other drivers are unaware of how to share the road safely with a biker.

That’s why Kansas lawmakers offer suggestions, laws, and rules regarding the safety of all motorcycle drivers.

The laws are designed not to detract from enjoying riding a motorcycle, but to ensure each person on a bike makes it to their intended destination alive and well. Even if you don’t ride, you should familiarize yourself with the rules of the road regarding motorcycles so you can do your part to help with safe driving.

Another helpful way to help yourself and other motorcycle drivers on the road in Kansas is to carry the correct car insurance, which you can find by comparing rates with various companies.

Start comparison shopping today for the best car or motorcycle insurance by entering your ZIP code above!

Motorcycle License Information for Kansas Drivers

AdobeStock_93255137-1600x1600(1)

The States of Kansas works hard to ensure all riders are licensed correctly and kept safe on the road.

If you plan on operating a motorcycle in Kansas, you must have the correct motorcycle endorsement on your license. If you don’t, you face fines and other penalties if you’re caught driving without the motorcycle endorsement.

To obtain a motorcycle license, you must visit the local Department of Motor Vehicles where you live. You must:

  • Fill out an application
  • Pay a fee
  • Pass vision tests and written tests
  • Accept the learner’s permit given to you upon passing

This permit does allow you to practice driving a motorcycle, but it doesn’t allow you to drive on the highway, at night, or with passengers.

Once you feel comfortable driving, you make an appointment with the on-road testing center in your neighborhood. It costs $20 to take and pass the test, and you have your new motorcycle endorsement.

Motorcycle Safety Laws in Kansas

Motorcycle drivers are given motorcycle endorsements when you promise to abide by the laws. Kansas law requires you spend ample time familiarizing yourself with the laws.

It’s also helpful to know what laws apply to motorcycle drivers even if you don’t have a motorcycle or an endorsement so you know how to keep motorcycle drivers safe when you’re aware of the laws.

The first law everyone should learn is lane safety. All drivers should stay in their lane of traffic unless they are passing or merging, at which time you must use your turn signals and check your blind spots.

Motorcycles are not as large as a standard vehicle, but all motorcycle drivers are permitted to do is stay in their lane. You may take up an entire lane on a bike, but you may not pass in between vehicles if they are in their own lanes.

Kansas helmet laws are somewhat lax. Only people who are younger than 18 riding on the back of a motorcycle are required to wear a helmet. It must bear a Department of Transportation approval sticker, or it’s not legal.

Drivers older than 18 are not required by law to wear a helmet, though it’s always wise to wear a helmet on a motorcycle. You must also wear eye protection if your bike does not come with a 10-inch windscreen.

Motorcycle Insurance Laws in Kansas

AdobeStock_66413216-1600x1600(3)

All vehicle operators must carry insurance in Kansas if you want to register your vehicle. Motorcycle drivers are required by law to carry:

  • At least $25,000 per person
  • At least $50,000 per accident in bodily injury insurance
  • $10,000 worth of property damage insurance

Property damage is not the same kind of insurance you must carry on your regular vehicle, but you must carry at least this if you have a motorcycle policy.

If you own a car or truck in Kansas, you must carry the same amount of bodily injury insurance as a motorcycle driver and pay for Personal Injury Protection.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

You must also carry:

  • $25,000 in property damage insurance
  • $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage

If you fail to adhere to the state’s laws regarding car insurance and you’re pulled over or involved in an accident in your car or on your bike, you face fines and penalties.

The fine for driving without insurance starts at $300 in Kansas, and you also face a one-year automatic license and registration suspension if you’re caught without insurance. This penalty doesn’t include the cost of paying for vehicle damage and/or injuries if you’re involved in an accident.

Safety Tips for Motorcycle Drivers on the Road in Kansas

Dollarphotoclub_88213212-1600x1600(1)

Check the weather before you drive your motorcycle. It’s the most important thing you can do to keep yourself safe. If it’s raining, icy, or snowing, it’s a good idea to leave your bike home and take another vehicle.

It’s also important to remember never to ride your motorcycle when you are not sober or awake enough to do so. Being tired makes you more likely to experience trouble on the road.

Always wear a helmet even if it’s not required by law. Wear protective gear on the road and carry good insurance.

The most expensive problem you’ll ever have is a motorcycle accident without insurance. It helps to carry more than the state minimum in Kansas, but owning your car outright means you’re not required to have more than the state minimum if you choose not to.

Tips for Sharing the Road Safely with Motorcycles

If there is one thing you should know about sharing the roadway with motorcycles in Kansas, it’s how to do your part to keep everyone safe. One of the simplest things you can do is always watch.

Motorcycles are much smaller and less obvious on the road than larger vehicles, which means they’re not always immediately visible in your mirrors.

Your blind spot is one of the most important places you should always check and double check, especially if there are motorcycles on the road.

If you’re on the road with a motorcycle driver, you must drive the speed limit, pass only when allowed, and adhere to the other terms and conditions of the road.

Follow the laws of the road. It’s the best way to keep everyone safe when driving. Motorcycles rely on other drivers to make good driving choices.

Tips for Finding Good and Affordable Insurance for Your Car and/or Motorcycle

AdobeStock_112174277-1600x1600(2)

The most important factor regarding car insurance is your credit score. Companies use this score to determine whether you are a risky driver, and they offer you rates dependent on what they discover from your score.

They also check your driving record to ensure it’s clean. If you live in a safe neighborhood, you might get a better rate, too.

Retired drivers are also offered a discount on their car insurance for being on the road less often, and anyone who has a safe car that’s not on the list of most stolen vehicles is also going to find their rate is lower.

Ask for discounts for being a multi-car policyholder and for keeping your car, home, and life insurance policies together. You do get discounts, and that makes it possible to carry better insurance.

Are you looking for better and more affordable car or motorcycle insurance? Enter your ZIP code below and compare at least three to four policies today!

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Copyright © 2022 Kansas Auto Insurance